ACTION ALERT: #ABQ Signatures Not Verified In Time

ACTION ALERT:

Albuquerque flooded the city one month ago, signing double the amount of petitions in half the time necessary to get the Pain Capable Unborn Child Protection Ordinance on the October ballot.  Now, the city clerk’s office says it will not be able to verify the signatures in time.

This will require a special election -- and cost the citizens of Albuquerque extra cash to put it on -- unless the City Council agrees to accept the ordinance outright.

Albuquerque made it clear during our Public Awareness Campaign: now that they know about the late-term abortion butchery going on their city, they care. They sent in a record-breaking number of petitions in just 20 days, asking to protect women and children in their city. This landslide for life should not have to cost the city, and the people’s voices should not be disregarded!

 Tara Shaver, spokeswoman for Project Defending Life, during Public Awareness Campaign in Albuquerque, describes the Pain Capable Abortion Ordinance

Tara Shaver, spokeswoman for Project Defending Life, during Public Awareness Campaign in Albuquerque, describes the Pain Capable Abortion Ordinance

What can you do?  Tara Shaver, Survivors ProLife Training Camp and Campus Outreach veteran, and spokeswoman for Project Defending Life, gave us a quick solution: ask the city council members to accept the ordinance outright.

"We are confident it will pass on a special election ballot. However, in order to save the city money we will ask that the City Councilors adopt the ordinance. The people have spoken - 27,000 in 20 days," said Shaver.

No better solution -- and you can be part of it.

Join the momentum for justice that swept Albuquerque two weeks ago: pick up the phone, and call the councilmen and women. The council has the authority to adopt acts proposed via legislative petition, and this authority gives them the ability to protect ABQ’s children and women without an outright vote of the people.

This is not simply a local issue. Women travel from all across the States to get late-term abortions in Albuquerque right up to birth. Dr. Shelly Sella sent a New Yorker, 36 weeks pregnant, to the ER, after a horrible botched abortion, not more than a year ago.

Join Survivors in speaking for the women and children of our nation: contact the Albuquerque City Council, and encourage each and every one of them to adopt the Pain Capable Unborn Child Protection Ordinance as soon as the necessary signatures are counted and verified.

“These children would scream in pain if these procedures were done outside the womb.  Right now, however, they have no voice of their own.  We are their voices.  We must speak up for them.” -- Kristina Garza, Campus Outreach Director 

Below are the names and full contact information of the Albuquerque City Council Members.  

Call them all today and ask them to adopt the Pain Capable Unborn Child Protection Ordinance.

Albuquerque City Council Members:

Councilor Ken Sanchez: kensanchez@cabq.gov

Telephone: (505) 768-3183

Councilor Roxanna Meyers: rmeyers@cabq.gov

Telephone: (505) 768-3159

Councilor Isaac Benton: ibenton@cabq.gov

Telephone: (505) 768-3186

Councilor Brad Winter: bwinter@cabq.gov

Telephone: (505) 768-3101

Councilor Dan Lewis: danlewis@cabq.gov

Telephone: (505) 768-3189

Councilor Rey Garduño: reygarduno@cabq.gov

Telephone: (505) 768-3136

  Councilor Janice Arnold-Jones: jarnold-jones@cabq.gov

Telephone: (505) 768-3136

Councilor Trudy Jones: trudyjones@cabq.gov

Telephone: (505) 768-3106

Councilor Don Harris: dharris@cabq.gov

Telephone: (505) 768-3123